Shop the NEW Food City in Kimball!

Commissioner of Agriculture Burn Ban for select Area Counties

A Commissioner of Agriculture Burn Ban has been issued until further notice for Franklin, Grundy, and Sequatchie Counties at the request of the county mayors.

Under state law, the commissioner of agriculture, in consultation with the state forester, has the authority to issue burn bans at the request of county mayors under certain weather conditions. The request by county mayors is completed following a mutual agreement with the Tennessee Division of Forestry’s district forester, whose district includes that county.

The ban applies to all open-air burning, including leaf and woody debris and construction burning, campfires, and outdoor grills (charcoal and wood (including pellets) prohibited; propane and natural gas are not prohibited).

Check with your municipality for local ordinances that supersede this ban.

For more information on state-issued burn bans, visit:…/safe-debris-burning/burn-bans.html

A local burn ban remains in effect for Marion County.