Three Area Schools Receive STEM Grants

Griffith Elementary School

The Sequachee Valley Electric Cooperative is thrilled to spotlight the incredible achievements of our community’s educators. SVEC is excited to announce that a few outstanding educators in our service area have been selected as recipients of STEM Classroom Grants through TVA ( Tennessee Valley Authority) in collaboration with SVEC.

This year’s application process was very competitive. Out of close to 800 applicants across Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia, only 347 projects received grants. There were three local winners.

South Pittsburg High School

Congratulations to Annie Howard from Griffith Elementary School in Sequatchie County for her grade-wide indoor/outdoor greenhouse project, Michiel Palmer from Bledsoe County High School and Bledsoe County Career Technical Center for a human-exploration rover project, and Jason Evans from South Pittsburg High School for the purchase of a planer for classroom instruction and student use.

Thursday, TVA, along with representatives from Sequachee Valley Electric Cooperative and Congressman Scott DesJarlais’s office, presented these fantastic teachers with grant checks and honored them with a few words.

SVEC extends its heartfelt congratulations to each grant recipient! Your commitment to excellence in education is truly inspiring, and we are proud to support your endeavors to enrich the learning experiences of our youth.

Bledsoe County High School

SVEC is immensely grateful to TVA for their partnership in making these grants possible. They remain committed to advancing STEM education initiatives within our community. Together, we are lighting the path toward a brighter, more sustainable future for all.